Senate House Library provides access to a range of online resources which support the study and research of Anglophone Caribbean literature and contextual subjects (such as history and cultural studies). These resources provide a mixture of primary and secondary material, including material digitised from archives and libraries.
The resources are accessible by all Senate House Library members onsite in the library. The resources are accessible offsite to Senate House Library members from the Central University and School of Advanced Studies and the University of London's federal colleges. Log-in with your library membership number and your name.
The full list of almost 500 online resources accessible via Senate House Library can be seen here (please note that this full list contains material on subjects within the arts, humanities and social sciences, and not just Caribbean literature). The online resources listed below contain material relevant to Caribbean literature.
Contains 180,000+ interdisciplinary ebooks available in the Ebook Central platform. Includes works on Caribbean literature. Search across the site by keywords, title, or author. Searching the keywords 'Caribbean literature' can be a good starting point.
African Diaspora, 1860-Present
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
This resource is centred primarily on African American history but it does also contain a number of journals relevant to Caribbean literature and culture
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Includes over 600 Companion titles, over 4,000 essays, as well as bibliographies and further reading.
Search by author, title, topic, or theme. By searching 'Caribbean' relevant titles appear including: The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel (contains a section on the Caribbean novel); The Cambridge Companion to Postcolonial Poetry (contains a section on Caribbean poetry); The Cambridge Companion to the Harlem Renaissance (contains a section on Claude McKay and Eric Walrond)
A series of texts spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Searchable by title, author, and subject.
Relevant titles include: The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature; The Cambridge History of Postcolonial Literature; and The Cambridge History of Black and Asian British Writing
Find biographical information on more than 149,000 modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Sketches typically include personal information, contact information, career history, writings, biographical and critical sources, authors' comments, and informative essays about their lives and work
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history
Gale Literature Criticism - Includes a section on Caribbean Literature and other related information
Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals
The Literary Encyclopedia is a constantly evolving and updating repository of authoritative reference work about literary and cultural history. All our articles are solicited by invitation from specialist scholars in higher education institutions all over the world, refereed and approved by subject editors in our Editorial Board.
Gale’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database. It offers a broad and representative range of authors and their works, including a large collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.
Gale Literature: LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more
One Literature - includes a Caribbean Literature collection
Unparalleled selection of content including 1,200 full-text journals, 500,000 primary works, 20,000 historic literary criticism sources, 1,300 videos, and 20,000 ebooks enables breadth and depth of study. Authoritative resources bring together the world’s largest collection of poetry, prose, and drama from the eighth century to today — ranging from the classic canon to the growing contemporary catalog of work