Overview of Special Collections and Archives
Senate House Library's Special Collections and Archives contain some material of relevance to Anglophone Caribbean literature and its presence in the diaspora, particularly in England. Other collections contain political, historical and social historical material which provides useful contextual information.
Special Collections books can be searched on the regular library catalogue while archival material can be located via the archives & manuscripts catalogue
The following collections may be of interest:
Ron Heisler Collection (click on link for collection overview) - contains books and pamphlets related to left-wing politics, with a focus on Britain and Ireland. The collection not only contains overtly political texts but also numerous works of literature which reflect similar ideas. Works produced by writers of Caribbean heritage are included, such as those produced in the 1970s and 1980s by community presses Black Ink Collective and Centerprise, and some works published by the Race Today Collective and Bogle L'Ouverture
C. L. R. James Papers (click on link for collection description and PDF list of items) - C. L. R. James's papers on Caribbean politics. Contains one letter from George Lamming (see below image).
Billy Strachan Papers (click on link for collection description and attached PDF list of items) - Billy Strachan's papers on his involvement in communist political activism. Strachan was also the founder of the newspaper Caribbean News
See below for some related blogs and images
Blogs Exploring Relevant Special Collections and Archives
These Senate House Library blogs include information on works from the special collections, archives, and also the historic periodicals collections:
The view from the "Motherland": Billy Strachan's fight for the Windrush generation
The London Estates and Neighbourhoods that Became Publishing Houses
Una Marson: Writer, Activist and the First Black Woman Broadcaster at the BBC
Froudacity: West Indian fables by James Anthony Froude explained by J. J. Thomas, 1st ed., 1889
John Jacob Thomas's work is held in our Special Collections under classmark Special Coll. LA NVO3 Fro Tho
The work is a response and corrective to the racism in James Anthony Froude's The English in the West Indies; or, The bow of Ulysses which had been published a year previously. This latter book is also held in our special collections.
Spring in New Hampshire: and other poems by Claude McKay, 1920
Poetry book published in London by Grant Richards. Held in the Charles Lahr Papers under reference MS985/12/5
This print edition is listed as held in only four other UK libraries
Letter from George Lamming to C. L. R. James, dated August 15th 1957
Held in the C. L. R. James Papers archive collection under reference ICS401/6
Image shows the letter alongside the 1953 first edition of George Lamming's novel In the castle of my skin (held on the open shelves at classmark PR9230.9.L25 .I5 1953)
Scribe sistren: poems by Benji (Thandiwe Benjamin), 1987
Poetry pamphlet published by Centerprise, Dalston, Hackney. It is held in the Ron Heisler Collection at classmark [Heisler] P1890