Anglophone Caribbean Literature at Senate House Library: Home

Each month, a different item from the collection will be displayed here

Beryl Gilroy (1924-2001) was a Guyanese writer and teacher. This novel In Praise of Love and Children was published in 1996 by Peepal Tree Press. Gilroy's memoir Black Teacher describes her experiences working in London schools. 

This guide provides information on Senate House Library's Anglophone Caribbean Literature collection, and is part of an ongoing project to review and develop the collection. 

For more details on the aims of this project, see the next tab: 'Review of the Collection'

The other tabs in the guide provide details of the collection as it currently stands and are arranged as follows:

• General Works: contains bibliographies of secondary texts held in the collection
• Authors: provides a list of some authors represented in the collection
• Journals and Magazines: links to some of the print and online journals available at the library
• Online Resources: links to academic electronic resources available via the library
• Special Collections and Archives: information on rarer material held in our collections
• External Links: resources from sources outside the library

The print collection is located within the larger Latin American collection on the 6th floor of the library, while new additions to the collection can be found in the New Acquisitions section on the 4th floor. In both cases, the books are available under the classmark range beginning PR

Anglophone Caribbean Literature is also represented in our growing collections of online books, e-journals and e-resources. 

Works of, or relating to Anglophone Caribbean Literature, are also located in other areas of the library, such as the journals collection, the English literature collection, and the Institute of Commonwealth Studies Collection

If you have any comments or queries, don't hesitate to contact Leila Kassir using the details in the Academic Librarian box, to the bottom left of this page