Alexander Street Press is a modular platform providing access to subject collections of digitised primary and secondary sources. Resources are focused on the humanities and social sciences.
Cross-search all resources or within specific subject collections.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Primary platform for ebooks in the Senate House Library Collection. Chapters and sections can be viewed online or downloaded as .PDF. Individual titles are also listed in the catalogue.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. By building a seamless research environment for multiple collections, Gale is creating the largest digital humanities and social sciences resource in the world.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
ProQuest databases provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources and more than 450,000 ebooks. Renowned abstracting and indexing makes this information easily navigable, while content tools, including instant bibliography and citation generators, simplify management and sharing of research.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This module of AM Research Skills is designed to introduce students to the key considerations concerned with studying colonial history, and to help both students and instructors to use primary sources on colonial subjects in a variety of teaching and learning scenarios.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Through AM's search, all the AM primary source content available through Senate House Library can be viewed and searched in a single interface. Use AM's search to explore through a single keyword search; take a deep dive into your areas of interest; and discover new archival materials to serve your research, learning and teaching.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
AM Scholar provides digital access to over 8 million pages of primary source materials selected from the extensive microfilm back catalogue of Adam Matthew Publications.
From Renaissance literature to 20th-century global politics, AM Scholar brings a vast and varied array of sources to students and researchers in eleven thematic modules, covering key subject areas and supporting multi-disciplinary research.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Central University of London only. Please login to this resource with UoL credentials, not library credentials. Available within the UK only.
BoB (sometimes referred to as ‘Box of Broadcasts’) which provides streamed copies of TV and radio programmes to students and staff at member institutions. BoB now contains over 3 million programmes, with hundreds more added daily. As such, it offers an excellent platform for sharing broadcast media for teaching. Not only can episodes or clips, prepared within the tool, be used during in-person teaching sessions, BoB also makes it feasible to set assignments for students to watch or listen to programmes asynchronously.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOnsite Only
British Online Archives (BOA) is one of the UK’s leading academic publishers and online repositories.
Hosting over five million records, carefully sourced from private and public archives, such as The National Archives (UK) and British Library, BOA’s specially curated primary source collections cover over 500 years of world history. They boast extensive documentation from across the globe, providing invaluable source material for students and researchers working within a wide range of scholarly disciplines, including history, politics, sociology, and international relations. Our unique digital holdings offer insights into global historical events and trends, typically through a British lens. They serve to broaden our understanding of history, and help us to make sense of contemporary social, cultural, economic, and political landscapes.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Cite Them Right is an online platform designed to advise students on how to reference correctly across eight referencing styles, including Chicago, Harvard, APA, IEEE, MLA as well as teaching the user how to reference just about any source. This platform contains useful articles and videos which help to guide students into common queries around referencing, including how to avoid plagiarism and understanding the differences between secondary and primary sources.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Early American newspapers, often printed by small-town printers, documented the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities, supported different political parties and recorded both majority and minority views. This growing digital collection of early American newspapers is the most extensive resource of its kind. With thousands of titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia, Early American Newspapers provides an unparalleled record of the topics, people, issues and events that have shaped America for nearly three centuries.
EAN 1;
EAN 10;
EAN 12.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Humanities Source Ultimate offers a wide variety of resources ideal for scholars of languages, literature, religion and philosophy, history and the visual and performing arts. With feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, original works of fiction, musicals, operas and plays, this database provides access to research that illuminates human thinking, action and interaction.
Hundreds of international full-text journals from North America, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America bring a global perspective to researching the human experience. With locally published content integrated with region-specific authoritative resources from all over the globe, Humanities Source Ultimate provides unparalleled coverage of regional news pertinent to the humanities.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
Drawing from the world-class Latin Americana Collection at The Bancroft Library, Mexico in History explores over four centuries of Mexico's history, from the beginning of Spanish colonisation c.1500 up to the turbulent years of the Mexican Revolution. The documents within this extensive resource cover a wealth of research interests, including Indigenous linguistic studies, records of the Mexican Inquisition, church and mission documents and sermons, administrative and land records, and a variety of manuscript and photographic records of the Revolution.
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOffsite access
State Papers Online: Colonial (parts 1 & 2) provides access to full-page digital reproductions of the British Colonial Office files held at the National Archives. The material covers the period from the 16th century up to the mid-20th century and the end of colonial rule. The collections allow researchers an insight into areas and peoples under colonial rule.
State Papers Online Colonial: Asia, Part I: Far East, Hong Kong, and Wei-Hai-Wei
State Papers Online Colonial: Asia, Part II: Singapore, East Malaysia, and Brunei
Central University and School of Advanced StudyOffsite access
University of London federation staff and studentsOnsite Only