Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
This module of AM Research Skills is designed to introduce students to the key considerations concerned with studying colonial history, and to help both students and instructors to use primary sources on colonial subjects in a variety of teaching and learning scenarios.
Adam Matthew Search and Collections This link opens in a new window
New
Through AM's search, all the AM primary source content available through Senate House Library can be viewed and searched in a single interface. Use AM's search to explore through a single keyword search; take a deep dive into your areas of interest; and discover new archival materials to serve your research, learning and teaching.
AM Scholar This link opens in a new window
New
AM Scholar provides digital access to over 8 million pages of primary source materials selected from the extensive microfilm back catalogue of Adam Matthew Publications.

From Renaissance literature to 20th-century global politics, AM Scholar brings a vast and varied array of sources to students and researchers in eleven thematic modules, covering key subject areas and supporting multi-disciplinary research.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late 19th century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of Josephine D. Lee, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities; Esther S. Kim, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; James S. Moy, University of New Mexico; and Karen Shimakawa, University of California, Davis.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
Box of broadcasts This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) BoB; Learning On Screen.
Central University of London only. Please login to this resource with UoL credentials, not library credentials.
Available within the UK only.
BoB (sometimes referred to as ‘Box of Broadcasts’) which provides streamed copies of TV and radio programmes to students and staff at member institutions. BoB now contains over 3 million programmes, with hundreds more added daily. As such, it offers an excellent platform for sharing broadcast media for teaching. Not only can episodes or clips, prepared within the tool, be used during in-person teaching sessions, BoB also makes it feasible to set assignments for students to watch or listen to programmes asynchronously.
Brill's Medieval Reference Library Online This link opens in a new window
New
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online offers an accessible yet engaging coverage of medieval European history and culture, c. 500-c. 1500, in a series of themed articles, taking an interdisciplinary and comparative approach. Presenting a broad range of topics current in research, the encyclopedia is dedicated to all aspects of medieval life, organized in eight sections: Society; Faith and Knowledge; Literature; Fine Arts and Music; Economy; Technology; Living Environment and Conditions; and Historical Events and Regions. This thematic structure makes the encyclopedia a true reference work for Medieval Studies as a whole. It is accessible and concise enough for quick reference, while also providing a solid grounding in a new topic with a good level of detail, since many of its articles are longer than traditional encyclopedia entries. The encyclopedia is supported by an extensive bibliography, updated with the most recent works and adapted to suit the needs of an Anglophone audience. Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online is a unique work, and invaluable equally for research and for teaching. Anyone interested in the art, architecture, economy, history, language, law, literature, music, religion, or science of the Middle Ages, will find the encyclopedia an indispensable resource.
British Library Newspapers: Part III - VI This link opens in a new window
New
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
British Online Archives This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) BOA
British Online Archives (BOA) is one of the UK’s leading academic publishers and online repositories.

Hosting over five million records, carefully sourced from private and public archives, such as The National Archives (UK) and British Library, BOA’s specially curated primary source collections cover over 500 years of world history. They boast extensive documentation from across the globe, providing invaluable source material for students and researchers working within a wide range of scholarly disciplines, including history, politics, sociology, and international relations. Our unique digital holdings offer insights into global historical events and trends, typically through a British lens. They serve to broaden our understanding of history, and help us to make sense of contemporary social, cultural, economic, and political landscapes.
Codices Vossiani Graeci et Miscellanei Online This link opens in a new window
New
The Codices Vossiani Graeci et Miscellanei Online publishes the 174 manuscripts in Greek, and the 42 manuscripts containing both Latin and Greek, from the world-famous Isaac Vossius manuscript collection at Leiden University Library. Isaac Vossius (1618-1689) was a classical philologist and collector of manuscripts, maps, atlases and printed works; he had a particular interest in Greek manuscripts; his first publication was an edition of a Greek manuscript, and he taught Greek to Queen Christina I of Sweden during his time working at her court. This primary source collection offers, in total, 216 manuscripts comprising 27,205 leaves, giving a total number of images (including covers, spines, and fly-leaves) of c. 55,409. K. A. de Meyier’s Latin-language catalogue of the collection is available in digital format alongside the scanned manuscripts, providing users with essential information on the content, context, and physical appearance of each codex; an English-language summarised and updated version of the catalogue is also provided for each manuscript, including new and recent bibliographical references.
Codices Vossiani Latini Online This link opens in a new window
New
The Codices Vossiani Latini Online publishes all 363 codices which form the world-famous Latin part of Vossius’ manuscript collection held at Leiden University Library. The Codices Vossiani Latini count a large number of early medieval manuscripts (a whopping 76 Carolingian manuscripts dating from before 900), including major sources of many classic texts. The 363 codices in all comprise 40,278 openings, resulting in 84,266 images, including covers and flyleaves.
New
Contemporary Anthropology: Archaeological Fieldwork and Methods brings together archival and textual material relating to archaeological excavations, methods, and practices done in the late 20th century to present day. It provides insights into the lives, cultures, and societies of ancient and not-so-distant civilizations through the analysis of material remains and artifacts from the past. This collection allows researchers and students to use archival material and published works to better understand, analyse, and critique archaeological research.

Featured in this collection is the The Cusichaca Trust Archive sourced from the Senate House Library, University of London. Led by archaeologist Ann Kendall, the Trust did numerous excavations in the South-Central Andes from 1980s-2010s. The archaeology, archaeobotany and ethnohistorical work focused on human occupation of the area from the late first millennium BC, through Inca expansion and into the Spanish Colonial period.
Contemporary World Drama This link opens in a new window
New
This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
New
Iberoamericana Online, in partnership with the Instituto Internacional de Literatura Iberoamericana (IILI), the oldest and most extended academic organization dedicated to the study and promotion of research in Latin American literature at a global level, comprises of 106 volumes including those from IILI’s renowned print series: Serie Nueva América, Serie Nuevo Siglo, Serie ACP (Antonio Cornejo Polar), Serie Premio Revista Iberoamericana a la mejor tesis, Serie Malunga, Serie S (Sexo y Sexualidades), Serie Libros de los Mundos, Serie Críticas, Serie Clásicos de América and Serie Tres Ríos.

The majority of the volumes in the collection are Spanish language and largely focus on Latin America and the Caribbean with titles on Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico and Venezuela. An essential digital resource in Latin American literary studies, this collection is rich with an abundance of academic research spanning subject areas including literary criticism and theory, poetry, politics, history, colonialism, indigenous studies, queer studies, gender studies and more.
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
New
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
New
North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. Together, the plays demonstrate Native theatre's diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
New
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of our editorial board.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
New
The South Asia Archive is an extensive resource for students and scholars across the humanities and social sciences. The historical documents within the Archive are truly interdisciplinary, reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India and the wider sub-continent. Comprising material sourced from collectors and archivists by the South Asia Research Foundation, this Archive brings together a wealth of important and unique primary and secondary content.
State Papers: Colonial parts 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window
New
State Papers Online: Colonial (parts 1 & 2) provides access to full-page digital reproductions of the British Colonial Office files held at the National Archives. The material covers the period from the 16th century up to the mid-20th century and the end of colonial rule. The collections allow researchers an insight into areas and peoples under colonial rule.
The Chaucer Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
New
The Chaucer Encyclopedia provides the most comprehensive overview to date of the life, times, works, sources/analogues, and influence of Geoffrey Chaucer (b. 1340s – d. 1400). It also makes accessible the approaches readers have taken to understanding Chaucer's oeuvre, as well as the analogues and sources (direct or intermediary, contemporary or from the distant past) of Chaucer's works. Providing nearly 1400 entries, more than any similar work on the market today, The Chaucer Encyclopedia is the best source for a new generation of students and scholars.
title
Loading...